Overblog
Edit post Follow this blog Administration + Create my blog

Website usability review & checklist in 2018

by Stephen Tyler

I've been thinking a lot recently about my process. Experience is a potent point, but it is rare that people really sit down and attempt to map out that which we know.
Even though it's portion of my choices that were compensated, I've decided to share this checklist. Several disclaimers: First, I do not claim this list is extensive or unique. Jakob Nielsen has an excellent 113-level checklist for example, Homepage Usability, in his e-book. That is just my way of organizing what I feel is crucial while attempting to keep it manageable. Second, my usage of terms may differ from yours. I use "usability" in a very broad sense, and my use of "accessibility" is not quite industry-standard. Do not like it? Write your own checklist ;) Lastly, an advance warning that this post is quite long.
Basic Overview
The listing is divided into 4 roughly equal sections, (I) Accessibility, (II) Id, (I-II) Navigation, and (IV) Content. I'll explain and rationalize all of line items and the sections under, but you can obtain the checklist as a basic, 1-page PDF.
I try to keep it simple with 3 fundamental scores: (1) Green Check = Great/Pass, (2) Red Check = Wants work, but no disaster, (3) Red X = Bad/Fail. Not allpoints are fundamentally applicable to all or any sites.

Load -time Is Reasonable

Call me old-school, but I nonetheless prefer to determine sites come in less than 100KB (60KB is even better). Most folks will just leave if a site requires eternally to load. Yes, a lot folks have broad Band now, but that makes our patience even thinner.

Number of Buttons/Links Is Reasonable

Psychologists prefer to argue about how many bits of information we are able to process, but should you commence to see through 7-or so menu items, believe hard about whether you need them. In the event you have got 3 levels of flyaway Javascript menus, do your-self a favor and start over.

Links Are Constant & Simple to Identify

The blue link is a staple of the web. A little artistic license is ok, but consider a-T least making your links possibly underlined or blue. Links should stand out, and you also ought to use them sparingly enough that your content is n't disrupted by them.

Home-page Is Digestible In 5 Seconds

We often talk regarding the 5-second rule. There's some disagreement over just exactly how many seconds you get, but website visitors certainly are a fickle bunch, and they need to get the basic gist of your homepage in just a few moments.

HTML Page Titles Are Explanatory

More importantly, your page titles (in the tag) should be descriptive, distinctive, and perhaps not jammed full of keywords. Page titles are the first thing search engine guests see, and if these titles do not make feeling or look spammy, they will move on to the next result.

To be informed of the latest articles, subscribe:
Comment on this post